Details

July 13
Link

Statistics

Replies: 7

Would it be possible to create artificial voices

:iconthekiseren:
TheKiseren Featured By Owner Jul 13, 2020  Hobbyist General Artist
Hi! Me again. So, this is a bit of an odd question (maybe stupid to someone who is way better in computer science than me) but I was curious if it is possible to make artifical voices from scratch. 

Now, yes, I do know synthesizer voices exists. Take Vocaloid for example. But, my intention is a bit different. Let me explain;
I have quite a several bit of OC's, all with their own background, their personalities, that kind of thing. Now I am only a writer and a beginner 3D artist, and I had this idea; Make 3D models of my OC's, and give them voices (and also do voice-only stuff). But here is the problem; I am not a voice actor, nor am I physically a girl. So voice acting female OC's, is a bit of a problem. And hiring a voice actor is costly, not to mention since I want to do a lot of voice stuff with them, it's never guaranteed that VA is available years in the future. So, getting to the point;

I wanted to give each of my OC's their own artifical voice. The problem I have is; I don't know how. What I have in mind, in what I want to do is this; I want to be able to create a voice artificially (Some OC's would have an accent too), then ones I have that voice "sample" I want them to be able to say anything so how in Vocaloid you type in a word and they say it, then lastly, I want to be able to create emotion in the voice, like happyness, sadness, fear, anger, that kind of thing, and I do know that that works with pitch and the like.

It all seems possible to me. But I don't know if you can via scratch or how. So the bottom line question is; Would it be possible to do the thing I have in mind? And if so, how exactly? I have no problem learning something new if it requires a lot of effort.