Closed to new replies
August 24, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 13

Proofreader and Editor for Literature

:iconthefs:
TheFS Featured By Owner Aug 24, 2013  Hobbyist Writer
Hello there, my name is Ed Dyer and I work as a proofreader of prose literature here on deviantART. I've been editing short stories and novels for many years, but have only recently discovered how many pieces there are uploaded to dA.

I will critique:
-Short stories
-Chapters Novels
-Poems

I will not critique:
-Fan fiction (unless I've been contacted and I know of the subject)

Here are a few examples of my work:

Have a look through my Critiqued Literature Gallery to see everything I've proofread on deviantART: here!

Rates
Because of how varied different literature pieces can be, my rates vary. Generally, the cost ranges between:
Note: There is no flat rate that many other editors charge.
  • $2-3 (1.50) per 1,000 words.
  • $5 (3) per 1,000 words for pieces needing more depth/time.
  • Poems vary within this price range depending on length.
  • There may be a discount for full length novels (contact me for more details)

The Process
If you would like hire me under these conditions then the first step would be to send me a 'sample' of your work, along with how much detail you'd like from the critique (rewrite, comments only, grammar, suggestions, character work, narrative structure...) I will read through the sample (first chapter etc) and gauge how long it will take, as well as offering a price. If you are happy with that price and estimated time I will send you my paypal details. Once I have confirmed receipt of the money I will begin proofreading, editing and commenting on your piece.

I prefer to work using the comments system on Microsoft Word, but I'm just as happy to use dA's commenting system to send your critique.

All rights to the work remain the property of the original author (you). All I ask is that I'm mentioned in any references to editing or general assistance :)