Any Ubuntu users?

I've recently installed Ubuntu 14.04 on my 5-year old eMachines laptop
because lately, Windows 7 has been a little sluggish and takes forever
to download and install updates.

While I somewhat hated it at first, I'm learning to adjust to it day by day.
My main gripes with Ubuntu are

(A) I cannot use my animated cursors
(B) Display is way too bright upon startup (adjustable with the terminal*)
(C) I don't really like how it names the files, drives, etc

*-for the most part, I try to avoid using the terminal because it scares me
(I'm still learning about Linux)
Comments18
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
Ubuntu pretty much sucks. There's Unity (can be fixed, KDE is infinitely better). There's the part where you won't get working drivers for your graphics card, and there's part where they use avconv instead of ffmpeg.

I've recently switched to Manjaro. It:

* boots three time faster than Ubuntu
* has all the proper drivers that Ubuntu doesn't
* has ffmpeg (Ubuntu hasn't — it has avconv which A) sucks B)I assume casues Kdenlive and Openshot to crash immediately after launch)
* generally works properly out of the box

The downside is that it's a little bit Arch-y, meaning it can happen that you'll need to go and change some settings. Basic proficiency with terminal (understanding what basic commands like 'sudo', 'cd', 'cp', 'mv', 'rm', 'nano' do and when to use them) is nice. (Note that 'root' account is enabled by default, so you can edit the files the GUI way). It has no fancy app store, but that shouldn't be a problem once all your stuff is installed. Also KDE theme that comes with it is flat out atrocious.
Thanks again, everyone, for all the suggestions.