Windows 7 or Windows 8?

I am torn.  Can people compare and contrast the 2 systems?  I hear a lot of people don't like 8 and have issues with it but at the same time other people say 8 is better and a lot faster.  I need to decide which one to get as I may need a new laptop pretty soon. thanks. 
Comments89
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
Windows 8 if you have a touch screen or tablet, otherwise 7.
7 if you know how to use a computer, 8 if your new to computers. I've been using 7 for years, and once I get a new computer I will get 7 for that. It's no frills, no stupid add ons that I don't need. If your new to windows, then get 8, its more user friendly.
i do know how to use computers but I'm not an expert or anything.  I'm not new to windows either. 
i like 8. but if you would miss a start menu, wait for 10.
i'm pretty sure I can live without a start menu. 
give 8 a buy then :) if you're planning on a pre-built/oem pc confirm that it has 8.1 installed.
Its probably a 5400RPM HDD, which is slow and annoying like in most laptops.
Check if you can upgrade to a 7200RPM or an SSD and an external drive.

5400RPM drives will make your pull your hair out no matter if its Windows 7 or 8.
i could maybe get a 7200 rpm, it would be cheaper than an ssd or hybrid. 
for 500... I could get this www.amazon.com/Dell-Inspiron-i…

still 5400 though but with 1 TB, and i5 and 8GB ram 
Doesn't matter if its 500GB or 1TB - performance will be the same.
I suggest investing in a 64GB/120GB 2.5" SSD and a small 1TB external drive. (I did the same with a desktop pc once and it was worth it. A fast & responsive Windows and plenty of storage)
View all replies
there's this for a little more but fuck everytime I price something slightly higher than my previous choice someone finds something wrong with it, i can't win. 

www.amazon.com/Toshiba-Satelli…
its a 5400rpm 500 GB mechanical hard drive