Cintiq Companion 2 vs iPad vs Surface Pro 3

So I know these types of questions come up a lot, and I have read a few opinions from other threads but since some newer devices have come out I figured I would ask for some advice and opinions. For some background on me, I don't have any background or experience in digital art since I'm a software developer, but I'm starting to learn as I want to start working on my own projects and need to be able to create my own assets for games and applications. So for now I obviously only need something that I can do some basic 2D work with, the games that I'm working on will have basic 2D animations but as I progress I will want to use the tablet for creating more complex work as well. I need something that is portable so I can use it during down time while traveling or while at work I can just pull out the tablet and do some work in between other projects. I don't want something that I have to connect to my computer since I work as a software developer for a financial company and creating game assets during the work day isn't really accepted which is why I would mostly use it during a break or while traveling and of course at home.  I've narrowed down my option to the main three, but if someone has an opinion for another device please feel free to throw it in. 

1. Cintiq Companion 2 - This is the obvious choice by most people since it offers the most power and precision needed for digital work. I don't have a problem with Windows 8, and I would need to get new applications (not a big deal) since most of the applications I did have were for the Mac (when I had a Bamboo tablet). I probably don't need to highest end model, since that's for 3D work and stuff like that, but I'm sure I would go with the i7 processor for sure just so I can expand into more powerful applications when ready.