Shop More Submit  Join Login

Details

Closed to new replies
November 25, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 11

Which to buy - Cintiq 22HD, Cintiq 12Wx or Samsung ATIV?

:iconadamnicholson:
adamnicholson Featured By Owner Nov 25, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
Hi, I am considering the 3 following 3 options, but don't know which is best. I am a Product Designer and keen to move into digital art. I all else fails I will improve my Sketch Work and illustration. I already use a Wacom Bamboo and it is good, but I really want to draw digitally onto the screen:

1. Wacom Cintiq 22HD - Expensive, but I would see it as the most professional choice. The price tag is high and with a PC I am looking over 1500 (ex. VAT) - Is it really that good?

2. Wacom Cintiq 12WX - inexpensive and can be bought second hand for around half the retail price with a PC for around 800. The jitter issue worries me and would I need to upgrade after a while?

3. Samsung ATIV tablet PC Pro (better one with i5 CPU and 4Gb RAM) - seen youtube reviews and they look good. The model tested was a lower spec ATIV and was a little slow with large brushes, so I thin the faster version would solve a lot of this.

I will really appreciate any advice offered.

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconhemiolan:
hemiolan Featured By Owner Dec 2, 2012
Wacom is playing an almost monopoly game so they can totally charge premium prices. Also working on a 22" screen is a bliss.

Technically concerned, most tablet pcs have 256lvls of sensitivity while the Cintiqs have 2048 and the milligram-pressure is superior. To be frank, I have no idea what the milligram-pressure is and what differences it makes, I cannot see the difference in sensitive levels either and neither do most digital artists I know, but some do complain about such inferior of tablet pc. It also lacks tilt sensitivity but not all wants this so it's depend if tablet pc suits ones' needs.