First Time Computer Build

Hello! I'm building a computer and because this is my first time I'm not too sure how good the build is. I'm pretty sure everything's compatible but if you see any issues could you please let me know? And if there are any obvious bottlenecking issues help would be great.

And suggestions or advise would be appreciated!

I'm looking to do GPU intensive tasks like Bitcoin mining etc. And also some sound/video/photo editing. As such the build should be GPU heavy (unless I'm doing it wrong)

Mobo: [link]
Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0 Motherboard, Socket AM3+, AMD 990X, 4xDDR3, 3xPCIe-16, 2xPCIe-1, RAID, ATX
Fits the CPU and 2 GPU's

CPU: [link]
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition 4.0 Ghz, Socket AM3+, Retail pack with fan, Vishera
I'm going AMD even though Intel is objectively better and more power efficient because I'm silly like that!

Harddrive: [link] x2
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX Hard Disk Drive, 2000GB, 5400-7200rpm, 64MB Cache, SATA 6 Gb/s
Two of these, I've got 6 SATA connectors on my MoBo so it'll work right?

Memory: [link]
Kingston HyperX Blu KHX1600C10D3B1K2/16G, 2x8GB, DDR3-1600, PC3-12800, CL10, DIMM
16 GB ought to be enough right? And I have two more slots if I ever need to expand

GPU: [link] x2
Asus HD7770-DC-1GD5-V2, Radeon HD 7770 Video Card, 1024MB, DDR5, PCIe-16, CrossFire
It's pretty good and not $400...

PSU: [link]
Seasonic X-Series, 560W ATX PSU, Active PFC, SLI Ready, Black
Should be more than enough Wattage and it's 80 Plus Gold. Anyone know how to calculate wattage requirement?

Optical Drive: [link]
LG Electronics GH24NS90 DVD Writer, DVD 16R/24W/8RW, CD 48R/48W/32RW, Internal, SATA, Black, OEM
Cheapest one

Case: [link]
Lian Li PC-6010W Mid Tower Case, Side Window, Silver
Cheapest one that came with fans

The links are to a New Zealand site cause that's where I live :p

Also using Linux, shouldn't be a problem right?

Thanks!
Comments3
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In