Antivirus software, a dirty little secret

"The antivirus industry has a dirty little secret: its products are often not very good at stopping viruses." [link]
-The article also tells us that two products with the best detection rates are in fact offered for free.
A good source for up to date information about AV software: [link] A little research here goes a long way. Never assume that a product is superior just because it's more expensive or is produced by a well-known company - and stay safe:)
Comments29
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
Antivirus are no longer very effective. It's far more important that you keep your system automatically updated, be careful with what you download, and have a good firewall like "Comodo".
I did not use any anti-virus software for years. I do irregular scans with tools like Spybot S&D and I am pretty sure that I am still virus-free. That might be due to the fact that I am a programmer and know what is suspicious.
Well, I'm not an expert at AV softwares, but I don't consider them useless, since the anti virus in my machine has helped protecting my system from many malwares. I'm quite satisfied my AV software performance. I'm using Avira Free. It does give false positives at times, but if I've doubt I check it with virustotal dot com.

For the last many year, I've never used my PC without any anti virus software.

[link]
I'm going to sell you this rock. It keeps tigers away. How do you know it works? Well, you don't see any tigers around, do you?
Yes, I didn't mean to say that AV's are useless or that you shouldn't be using one - quite the opposite. They are definitely necessary.:) This is just to note that the industry in general has lagged seriously in "keeping up with the bad guys", serving up more marketing hype than real results and therefore one has to be doubly cautious.