Anyone into local music?

I have been coming up with a lot of possible projects to bridge some gaps in the local music community.

I'm also curious to see what general thoughts you have in interest of the local scene and the mainstream scene.
Comments24
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
In my town, there's a band called The Jar Family, they're getting quite well know around the UK now. They're kind of like folk I suppose. I'm not good at defining a band into a genre.
I've been trying. I was a fan of a local band earlier (The Pinz) but then they broke up a year after I found out about them...:(

My school has a battle of the bands and usually we have around 11 or 12 bands willing to participate, but last year we couldn't even get 2, so we couldn't have the event.

It's sad, really.
Recently I bought an album by a local group called Artefact (now defunct) and it was kinda good.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=Co7nzp…
Not bad at all. Thank you!
Got a lot of folk/rock/blues/country where i live. I personally would love to get good ole fashion punk band going here.
I don't think that would go over too well. LOL! However there is A LOT of original material out here.

Most of the folk musicians bridge on politics as this is  one of those  "wild" places. and you "have to keep it wild" (I'm all for that!)
Then you have to please the redknecks if you want a music gig anywhere so "Play some Lynyrd Skynyrd" Might get shouted at you a lot. Or "Play Freebird!"

I have mixed feelings on my local scene. What i would want to play wouldn't get you the gigs- Screw mainstream, Though.
I would love to hear some of your stuff! Where I am at we got all kinds of folk. Yup... even punk folk. The music scene is tough you got to do what you love. Originality takes you a long way.
Nice! Im not really one to rush out and play in a bar.  I might could perform on the street (due to the lack of responsibility of a bar. lol!)