Beginning Band Student: Noob Advice?

I am currently enrolled in a symphonic band class and, as a beginner, I was wondering: how do time signatures work? Like, let's say some music was written in three-fourths and the tempo was at a moderate pace. At the time of the beat (or those click sounds the counter thingy makes), do you play a note? Or have I got this completely wrong? 'Cause this doesn't make any sense...

And what is the proper way to breath on a woodwind instrument? Apparently, I cannot 'articulate'. I've looked online for some tips and all I get is "use your diaphragm/belly breath". I try to but it just doesn't work... Can someone explain this to me aswell?
Comments3
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
If something written in 3/4, it's three quarter notes to a bar. Bars are separated by vertical lines on paper and riffs are usually one or two bars long. It's easy enough to count.

This is in 3/4: [link]
This is in 4/4: [link]
First the breathing. Get your instrument all set up and then jog around the block. When you get back play. The heavy, deep breathing...that's what you want :) We used to do that all the time when I was playing clarinet and it helps more than you would think :p I don't know what you're playing but I could give more advice if you're on clarinet as it's what I know best :dummy:

As for time signatures. You can think of them as fractions. The number of beats in a measure multiplied by the fraction of the note that gets the beat. So 4/4 would be 4 beats in a measure and a 1/4 note for each beat. 6/8 time has 6 1/8 notes per measure. Different time signatures are accented differently and are typical to different styles of music. You'll learn them as you go, it's not a big deal just yet :)