Closed to new replies
January 10, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 35

Any tips on composing music?

:iconq-le:
Q-Le Featured By Owner Jan 10, 2013  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
Recently I started to give a try on composing music (piano and electric guitar).
I'm usually able to produce a little melody, that I like but then I'm stuck.
I can't seem to finish the song and with piano I don't know what to do with my left hand either.
I played keyboard for 2/3 years and now I've been playing piano for over two years, both with lessons. Guitar for one year self taught so it's probably easier for me to start with piano.
Somehow I never got any theory from both my teachers about things like the circle of fifths, different scales etc. (or I completely missed it :?)
Is this important to know this well?
And if so, do you have any recommendations where I can learn it or any books I should buy?
What's you're way of composing music?
BTW the style I like on piano is classical and rock on guitar

Also, show me your music! would love to hear it :)

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconjonathan120:
Jonathan120 Featured By Owner Feb 2, 2013
This is a piece I started yesterday for a new fantasy album; [link]

When I first began trying to write my own orchestra music at age 17 after having practiced my first instrument a guitar (Metallica etc songs from TAB) I didn't know any theory, just some guitar scales/modes. I've always had a good sense of melody, that's something that you can't teach.