Webcomics pros and cons

So when considering publication of your comic's what are the pros and cons of online publication and what formats work best.

Really I'm looking for anything useful; rates of publication, img sizes, color or no color, anything useful really.

It should come as no surprise that I'm really new to the whole field as a creator if not as a consumer.
Comments10
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
Stan Lee once said: "Comics are like boobs. They look great on computers. But I'd rather hold one in my hand~"

A wise man with a wise word I must say~

img.pandawhale.com/post-44297-…
check out webtoon.com and tapastic.com

there's a new generation creating comics for and reading comics on their phones.
Online is better for getting famous, traditional is better for getting rich (maybe) :D Either way, you seem to already be in better hands than mine :iconeratsplz:
i think the main point about webcomics is that MOST of the time, they are more recreational than professional
if you write/illustrate a weekly webcomic, you are mainly going to see creative improvement, the building of a fanbase, and the addition of that webcomic to your portfolio. so if you're just getting started - or you just really enjoy it! - webcomics are great. they usually aren't big money makers, unless you write/draw for a client or you have your comic set up like an ebook that can be bought [or you use a host that allows premium, paid content]
imo, the "standard" format for a webcomic has been the generic smackjeeves, comicfury, etc layout for probably ten or fifteen years. it's very basic coding and usually isn't very community integrated. personally, i use tapastic, which has less customization options but is accessible and has a very modern look