Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour

Details

Closed to new replies
December 12, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 4

how do you go about preparing for your comic strips/pages?

:iconorangeboombox:
i'm new to creating any sort of comic strips or pages, and i have a problem with struggling in spending too much time before actually starting on the pages themselves.
i'm wondering if there are some extra steps i should be taking or ones i should be tacking off of the list, maybe?

first i brainstorm the overall plot, flesh out the characters (what they look like, personalities, backgrounds and create character sheets) and the surroundings of the world that they're in.
second i thumbnail the whole comic (a much smaller, less-detailed rough draft of the comic so i can know what the overall structure will look like) and add dialogue for the characters/text boxes.
then i'm ready to move on and actually start with the final pages.

also, do any of you know any good walkthroughs/guides for comic structure or general comic book-related tips? thanks a bunch!

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconaspacecowboy:
I suggest scripting it out somewhere before you really start drawing. Then get an editor and proof reader involved. I spelled Panel with two 'n's a few hundred times the first time through, and no the spell checker didn't catch it because of the all caps font I was using.
:iconweremole:
weremole Dec 12, 2012  Professional Digital Artist
Depends on the lenght and complexity of it. If its bigger than eight pages, involved and with a lot of dialogue I write a script so I can figure it all out before I add the visual component.