What made you join dA and… what made you stay?

It’s a commonly asked question, I know, but sometimes I wonder…

What drove you to join this vast art community?

My reason was simple. I joined because I wanted to have the ability to comment on works. Easy as pie.
However, what made me stay on dA is a completely different story.

What made you stay and continue contributing to dA?

Well, I started producing art. Art first, I tried to be popular… (Oh sush! I’m sure we all tried at one time or another). Well...I soon realized being popular on dA wasn’t really possible, at least for one like me, so I set another goal for myself. I started producing things that I thought were missing in dA. Think I’m exaggerating? Never! I started drawing fan art of one of my favorite computer game characters. You’d be surprised how few drawings of Tomi Undergallows there are on this website! (If you guys haven’t played the original Neverwinter Nights …just never mind). ^^;
The point is, I feel as though I have purpose! I filled the void! I am a representative for Tomi Undergallows fans everywhere! (Yes, all 3 of us) Even if it’s a very very very small role.

So yes… What about you guys?
What made you join dA and… what made you stay?
:granny:
Comments360
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
Friends and awesome art. :love:
What got me to stick around was all the awesome art I always got to see. Though I was absent on here for several months, when i got the chance I would check it out every now and then.

I was never a artistic person when it came to pen and paper. Something I always wanted to get into as a hobby was photography. So when I finally was able to get me a decent camera this past year, I finally was able to start posting my own stuff.

Also unlike other sites, DA has a great community. There maybe people who give people a hard time here and there but that is on any site you go on.