Not sure how to begin or where to look

I'm a writer of sorts who for a time has been storing his ideas away. As time keeps ticking, I've been cynical about moving forward with those ideas. I've always imagined that the medium I want to approach these ideas is through illustration, and probably a weekly comic so that I(we?) could have plenty of time between updates to imagine exactly where each strip will go next.

Things get rough here because I'm honestly just a guy waiting tables, making a decent living, and spending a lot of his free time day dreaming about these places and people he wishes he could illustrate in the way they deserve. When I'm not working I'm usually jotting ideas down when I'm feeling the magic or listening to music (which incidentally inspires a great deal of my ideas). One thing I have desperately felt the need for is someone to bounce ideas off of, preferably an artist, who may also be in the same boat making a living and wanting to draw something that follows an "epic" story arch.

So that leads me to why I'm here. This is the first time I've really spoken about this with the net, though I have one very close friend whom has been a great source of objective perspective (great at telling me when I have a really crappy or cliche idea). I'm not sure where to approach anyone about whether they might be interested in talking about a story they could be involved in illustrating and having an active role in narrative. I don't want to approach someone and ask for free art, that isn't my intent. I'm not sure how to look for an artist who'd be willing to approach a story and lend their talents to it in hopes that it might become something special - someone who might be working a day job like me.

Anyway, this was the first place I decided to look. I hope this isn't the wrong forum. Thanks.
Comments4
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In