New idea to abolish copy right laws

i think we should try to get a law passed that would allow anyone to legally use and profit any source material they see fit it would make the story telling industry more competitive and produce better entertainment for all
Comments176
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
I'll be honest, I think you have very little understanding on how copyright and royalty laws work.

I'd recommend doing some research on the subject before making public degrees on abolishing it.
There's no way that system would be economically feasible in the 21st century. Anyone could make duplicates of a multimedia and try to sell these duplicates. The duplicates themselves wouldn't be profitable because everyone would be undercutting each other to release the cheapest bootleg product.
If copyright was already abolished Michael bay (aka Satan) would never have had success
as a writer I'm highly against this idea, there is fanfic and fanart, sure some people get said stuff published but they have to give credit where credit is due, same with singers doing songs.  artists deserve their copyright status for a reason, if a person feels there should be more competition then never be afraid to try and produce something with said stuff and see where it goes. 
Bullshit. If the profit making "story telling industry" wants to compete more and make better entertainment, then let them hire good people and pay them decent wages and write good material on their own. Passing a bill that allows people to steal and then profit from it is beyond idiotic.
People who propose this idea generally do so because they specifically want to nick someone else's idea[s] and attempt to pass them off as their own with some level of impunity. 
They'd still have to acknowledge that the characters and/or settings was someone else's creation, like those disclaimers you see on fanfics