I can draw, but I can't draw.. what do I do?

I can draw, but I can't bring myself to do it. I'm struggling with depression, needing to work at a job that doesn't make me happy, various addictions (hint hint), and I'm way too caught up in how well all the artists that I'm following are doing. I like every single artist that I've fav'ed or followed, but I think my fascination may be preventing me from growing as an artist myself. I have all the resources one could need; I have Sai, photoshop, a cintique, and time to draw after work, but I'm having a very hard time creating anything. If I do manage to sit down and pick up the stylus, I just end up drawing a bunch of sloppy and incomplete thoughts; there would be an eyeball here, butts and thighs somewhere else, and the same phrase or word written numerous times. I've been in a rut for years, and my question is: How do I get out of it?
Comments10
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In