First Job Fears

Hey guys! It's been 5 years since I graduated high school and long story short, there were several deaths in my family, dealt with moving on from troubled home life, I moved from house to house a couple times, used to be waaay more depressed, bla bla bla. In the past two years I've submitted some applications for jobs, got to do some interviews but they didn't pan out. I've been through a lot of abuse since childhood and I know my negative experiences are definitely behind a lot of my job-related fears. 

Scared I have always been terrified by the idea of working in retail and interacting with strangers. I used to be a lot worse, in terms of being shy I mean. I've made a lot of improvements. But I'm still fearful of particular things - like having to work for mean managers, becoming the target of gossip among employees, messing up while working a cash register, managers/employees not having patience with me, general misery etc. If I could just make a living from doing art commissions I would, and I've been trying hard but I realize getting another job would be best for me. 

I would like to hear any advice/tips from people who have had an (first job) in-store job. Positive stories would be very encouraging! But please feel free to post stories of bad first jobs too, and explain how you handled it.

I've been submitting some applications and good lord today while writing some of my info down on a post-it note provided to me, my hands were shaking from fear and for some reason my writing turned out super tiny! Britney Spears Eeek Oops  I've never done that before, my boyfriend even pointed it out.