'Game developer' is only offering royalty-based payment

I'm not sure if I can say who it is for privacy reasons, but a group on moddb was looking for a character artist.  After some further discussion they're only offering royalty-based payment.

At the moment I'm unemployed and can't afford to work for free.  I have no background on the company's reputation or I haven't dug enough.  I can disclose it in case anyone's worked with them before.

Is it worth it or should I politely decline while I haven't started work?
Comments27
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
Thought I'd update before closing.

I turned it down but said I might still be interested if they needed me in a couple months.  At that point I'd see if they were then willing to pay upfront.  I treat creating artwork as a profession and most people I spoke with in the past were paying upfront with intellectual property fees (industry standard).  Artists shouldn't sacrifice time or value for exposure unless it's something they want to do for themselves or a close friend/relative.
Royalty-based payment is worth it only if you have good faith that the team will actually

1. Finish their product
2. Successfully market for product

If you don't have an essay's worth of knowledge on what it takes for a team to do that so you're able to judge if it's worth it, I'd personally stay away if you're doing especially for the money, and not for just making a game

Plus, give them a break. Most game developers are startups or indies with no reputation.
Ask for compensation for materials and the reasonable cost of your time up front.

If they agree to it, go for it. If not (which I suspect) walk away. There are too many people out there who prey on artists telling them that they will get exposure or some future profit. Artists hear, "well I do it because I love art" so much.