How should I set up a summer business regarding dog sitting?

I know it's kind of unrelated to the forum topic, but this is the closest topic to the topic of my question...

It's a little bit early, but it never hurts to be early, so..

This summer I plan to offer dog-sitting services on my own, it's just going to be me and I don't plan on making it an official business, I'll keep it more like a private activity between me and the clients to earn some pocket money. I have dog-sitted some of relatives' pets before and I think I have some experience to pet-sit. The thing is, I don't really know if there should be special requirements for setting up such services, or anything regarding to the fees and how much should I charge, or maybe things like what I should declare to the owner prior to accepting them as a client, or if there's a few general questions to be asked before I sit their dog (things like does the dog have special requirements, etc.)

I plan to do come to the client's house daily, for however as long or as often as the client wants me to. So a suggestion on the hourly rate would be nice.

I would also like to know the general idea of dog-sitting activities. Something like what I should do in general, besides feeding and taking care of the dog, playing with the dog, and taking it to walks.

Thanks in advance!
Comments6
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
I was a petsitter for about 8 years, got started in high school and it just sort of exploded from there. I got my jobs mostly through word of mouth; our neighborhood also had an HOA website and I eventually advertised my services through that. My rates changed here and there, but mostly I charged $10-20 per day depending on what I did. My work usually included feeding, medicating, letting out, walking/taking to the park, sometimes bathing, and sometimes staying overnight.
$10-15 an hour because it's a need and you can ask for that much.