Weight loss help?

Hi, everyone. I'm 18 years old, 5'4" and I weigh 145 pounds. My parents, friends, and boyfriend often tell me I need to lose weight. I didn't want to listen to them for a long time, but a couple months ago I decided to listen to them since they're right after all. I want to lose 30 pounds at the most. I've been trying for a couple months, but it hasn't seemed to work at all...

What I've tried so far is...
—walk for thirty minutes per day
—cut back food intake, especially sugary and carb-loaded foods
—drink only water
—eat healthy snacks (nuts, apples, lettuce, celery, or cucumbers)
—eat three small meals a day (usually I have toast for breakfast, a sandwich for lunch, some kind of protein and veggies for dinner)
—do jumping jacks on commercials when I watch TV
—(almost forgot to add) I never eat past 6:30 PM

I haven't lost  anything yet and I've been doing this for two months now... I'm tired of everyone telling me I need to lose weight and that I'm lazy. Plus, I would like to look better...
Comments81
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
I'd say more exercise and try eating quinoa instead of rice, but for some people it's in the genetics (and their metabolism).
Walking is a good idea, but try picking up a land-based sport with continuous movement (tennis, running, badminton, basketball etc.) and playing for at least 1 hour a day.