Managing depression and art block

Hey guys,
I seem to be finding myself in a slump, I have diagnosed depression and have been under medication for some time now. The medication has brought me out of the hardest part but I am still learning to manage my depression and the feelings that come and go. I will feel pretty neutral for a while before going into 2 week or month long sections of just feeling really down.

What I want to know is how most people manage creating art when struggling with depression? More often than not when I get a time period of depression it kills all art motivation and I end up with huge amounts of art block.

This wouldn't be a huge problem if art wasn't what I want to do with my life. I have to learn to do art while feeling down in order to keep a good job one day. Advice?
What helps you?
Comments17
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
I've had psychosis with points of depression. My hands would be shaking from medication when it was heavier but i still kept drawing, one could say it was impossible but I did it anyway. Drawing/Painting is very good for your head, just like reading.
Confirm the source of your motivation. Realize that art is a way out of depression.

By the way, I'm sorry to hear you have depression. It's terrible, isn't it. Like, words don't describe how terrible it is.
But! Life can be enjoyed. Fill it with enjoyable things, and you too, shall enjoy it.
The main reason why I won't produce art for a long time is because of depression. I'm going through art block again because I can't afford to stay on medication for anxiety so I'm coming down from it.
I try and make myself more socialable (which is hard) and I'll pin inspiration on Pinterest to try and get some form of idea of what to draw.
I wish I had more to offer but I'm struggling through it too hah.