Fellow artists with depression - how do you stay inspired?

Hi all,

I'm an artist who lost faith and interest in my art back in high school, when my depression came to a peak.

I'm just trying to get back into it now, after many years of treatment. I know I won't get any better unless I keep at it, and I'm afraid that this short burst of inspiration will be short lived.

How do you stay on the ball?

Thanks and much love.
Comments61
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
I actually took up drawing as a full on hobby when I started suffering with depression. It was a good outlet for me and it took my mind off the stress of my worries.

The best thing for me if I'm running dry is simply looking at art. I come onto DA mostly for inspiration. I could trawl for hours and build a visual library. I don't know if this sounds like a cop out answer but it's true. There are artists I really look up to so I try and take aspects from them that I really enjoy.

Something else that is useful is setting yourself little targets and challenges. If you're not feeling inspired, do some exercises that will make you inspired whilst making you feel on top of your game.

I don't know if you know of Sycra? Check him out on YouTube (he's on DA too). Really good artist and talks a lot of sense about art and life and mental health. He's a cool dude.
Is you're depression make you feel like shit? embrace the feeling and create based on it->Faced with Death by Trafal-the-Law When you feel better do other stuff.
Back before I've graduated from Art College, I also lose faith and hope. But all that changed within time.

If you're an artist, just keep the passion. Be inspired by something beautiful and/or awesome. Hang in there. I cope with things in reality by escaping into my own fantasy (drawing something that makes me happy) when I have a free time (mostly at night). And eventually, I'm doing great in reality.