Closed to new replies
February 13, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 8

Frustrated with 3D design teacher

:iconshadowtoon:
shadowtoon Featured By Owner Feb 13, 2013
Okay, I'm a community college student majoring in Art to become an animator. Right now I'm taking a 3D design class and absolutely dislike/hate the class. This is my first time taking any kind of class involving making sculptures.

The project we're working on now is a 'Found Object' sculpture and every idea I throw at my teacher he dislikes. The sculpture we build is suppose to be based on a theme (ex: emotions, war, movement ect...) and it's suppose to be about myself, my life.

I've shown him ideas on
building a ferris wheel based on my emotions (each seat having a different emotion I experience, for example I would have put failing grades on a seat for my hate.)

He didn't like that because he asked why a ferris wheel? I told him it's like emotions are a ride, always changing, that and I like ferris wheels.

Since he didn't like that idea, I decided to make another idea on using a bicycle wheel. The concept of this was to put past experiences that frustrated me on the wheel. I would take bike rides to relieve my anger sometimes. Now he says the idea feels too forced and too metaphoric.

Finally, back at school from the weekend I was suppose to have something 50% built. It's just that we're not allowed to start building something without his approval of an idea. Since I didn't know what to do, I just built a train out of stuff laying around the house. And I thought it looked good. He, um, didn't agree.

What's funny is that he loves the ideas of my other classmates. One is doing a dragon costume. He loves the idea because she's Wearing what she finds interesting (dragons). Another student is puting
cards from her mother on a tree stump. (even though we're not suppose to use anything organic, he's letting her do it)

...I really don't know what to do.