To be or not to be.... I think I finally get this question.

Hey everyone. After many years of arguing and negotiating with my parents I finally convinced them to let me go to an art school. But now after hearing all the arguments against living an art career I'm isht scared about it. Any words of wisdom or encouragement will be greatly appreciated.
Comments25
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
you can do it, yay <3
Arigatou :meditate
I'm majoring in psychology but minoring in art and I'm satisfied with that. It's all about the quality of your work anyway, right? My mom put it this way when she told me not to go to an art school: "Do what you love, but in order to do that you need money." You have to know exactly what you want to do with art and your chances of getting a job or eventually you're just gonna end up hating art or yourself cause you can't get a job with a degree in it.
But it's also about allocating time. I believe that the major thing seperating sucessful artists from aspiring artists or rather their quality of work, is the sheer amount time spent actually drawing and working on projects. So you kinda need to focus if you're really serious with your art career. I mean there's so many different amazing artists everywhere, it's a bit silly to think you can match them without putting nearly as much work in as they do. Even when you know what you want to do with your art the competition is heavy.
Believe it or not, language majors run into the same problem. If you study German or French alone there isn't really anything you can do with it. But if you combine it with communications, international relations, business, or education, you're good to go. Or you get a phd and teach. The key is to combine your major with something more likely to land you a job.