Closed to new replies
January 4, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 34

Being discriminated against by teachers and classmates

:iconsalita18:
Salita18 Featured By Owner Jan 4, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
As the title says, I'm being discriminated against by my teachers and classmates. No I'm not just nagging about this, I'm actually serious. Let me explain.

I'm a student in the Netherlands. I grew up here, have a Dutch passport and Dutch father, but because my mother is Indonesian I don't look Dutch, with my black hair and slightly tinted skin. I've never really been discriminated against based on race, because I live in the city. Usually in city's there are more "foreign" people, so people are used to different faces.
This study course I'm in right now, even though I'm in a city, most of my classmates come from smaller towns and villages. Which is no problem (since I have some friends from towns like those), but these classmates of mine are different. Also I'm (besides one other person) the only one with exotic blood.

The first I'll explain are my classmates:

It started off with my classmates acting weird around me. Which I didn't mind at first. When they came up to me with questions like "where are you from?" I would kindly explain that I'm half Indonesian, half Dutch. They'd just nod and that was it.
Though there were other people who asked more assuming questions like "are you Chinese or Japanese?" which got me by surprise, because believe me... I do not look Chinese... by far. Deciding to troll some of these people (since I thought there were joking with me) I would respond I'm Korean... after which I'd have to show them where Korea is located on the map... after which this person thought I was from the North....... (yea this one person in my class is really special).