January 2, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 14

Troubles with Getting a Job/Job Interview

:iconrinatan-chu:
rinatan-chu Featured By Owner Jan 2, 2013  Student Digital Artist
Let me start off by introducing myself:
My name is Marina. I am 18 years old and I graduated form high school in June 2012. In September, I started university at Cal Poly Pomona as a Fine Art major. I want to be an illustrator and draw for things like books, album art, magazines, comics, children's books, etc. But I still need to learn a lot before I can do some of these things and more exposure.

However, that will take time.
Right now, at this very moment, I should get a wage earning job to help pay for my expenses. I am an adult so I should try to not rely on parents, right? Though, even though I have been trying to get a job or at least a job interview for almost 3 years now. I've sent it everywhere I am qualified and I have not received a single interview.
What am I doing wrong?
The only experience I have is volunteer work but I've been told that that doesn't say anything important because it only says that you are a good person and employers don't care if you are a good person.
So recently, I haven't been putting that on my resume.
Still, I have no experience. There aren't any jobs that are in my field at school so I can't get hired there. Sure, I attend school, but I don't do anything other than draw and study.
What should I do? I don't really have any motivation other than I should.

How should I get motivated? Or what should I do to get a job or even an internship? Or even an interview? I am really confused. What kind of jobs do they offer for people trying to get a fine art major? How can I get a job for teenagers like retail, fastfood, or maintenance?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconrockstarvanity:
RockstarVanity Featured By Owner Jan 3, 2013