Details

Closed to new replies
December 9, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 16
:iconstaple-salad:
staple-salad Featured By Owner Dec 9, 2012
I graduated college about a year and a half ago. Since then, I feel my life has just been completely overrun by depression and anxiety.

First, it was the stress of finding a job, then that was added to when my boyfriend found a job and moved to a new city. I've been living here for over a year now and I still haven't found much to like. I have no friends, and my usual strategies for making friends (join clubs, etc) has been thwarted because few (if any) people here are like-minded enough.

- The Rocky Horror cast only preforms on Halloween (the two other cities I've lived in have performances at least once a month, one is famous for a weekly cast).
- Right after I moved here I found a really awesome vintage/pin-up store. It went out of business within a month.
- I found the "artsy" cafe. That's closing too now, in a couple weeks.

There is no "alternative" scene. It's basically agriculturalists, politics, Mexicans (meaning people from Mexico who still maintain their cultural heritage, not necessarily illegals, though I know a few [one of whom should be a citizen soon, hooray!]).

It's also considerably more conservative here than I'm used to. Compared to other places, I'm sure it's liberal, but the other cities I've lived in and loved are kind of known for being hippie/hipster cities of liberality. This place has a lot of farmers.

But basically, all I have for friends are my in-laws, one friend who just had a baby, and a couple women old enough to be my parent at my gym. The worst part is I have a TON of friends, but they live in either my home city that I desperately want to get back to, or where I went to college.

Additionally, I feel like I'm just stuck here to support my boyfriend* since the job we moved here for, he lost just a couple months later, and now that I have a job, I'm our only income.