Closed to new replies
December 5, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 15

Getting a summer research position? Tips? My GPA blows

:iconrendjur:
Hey guys,

So, I am a science student in college. This summer, I REALLY want to get a summer research position in a lab. The problem however, is that my GPA blows. And when I say it sucks, I mean it's just under 2.7. Yeah, I have C+, yikes.

This poses a problem because a lot of professor would like you to have research granting, but most of these require a GPA minimum of 3.0-3.2 to even be considered. I know professors who are also willing to take in students who are unable to get funding, but this becomes very limited (like, 3-4 people). And it is more likely that someone else will get a position than me, if there GPA is well, better than a C+.

I also feel like I have screwed myself over because I have very little experience in terms of research. I haven't volunteered much either in clubs or hospitals, so I feel like I have not much to show.

Any way, my question is, have you guys been in a similar situation before? What would you do? I considered asking the professor if I could volunteer, but I don't know how I can show I'll be committed (volunteering in a lab can be frowned upon, just because in the past, students tend to bail/not show up).

I've already contacted a few professors and they want me to show them my unofficial transcripts, resume, and CV. It sucks because...I am literally giving them nothing.

I don't know what to do and any help or suggestions as far as how I should go asking/speaking to these professors and not seem like total scum would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconseltivo:
Seltivo Dec 7, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist