Closed to new replies
November 18, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 12

I am a grad student and losing my girlfriend because of it

:iconrribot:
RRibot Featured By Owner Nov 18, 2012  Student Digital Artist
I guess I don't really know where to put this one for sure, so I thought I would try here:

I am a grad student studying 3D modeling and character sculpting for games and entertainment. This equals roughly 60-80 hours a week of work at the moment, and probably until and beyond I am done with my degree. I currently live with my girlfriend of a year, whom I love and care for, in a small apartment outside of the city.

Recently an issue has arisen where I am focused entirely on school to the point where I come home tired and often just collapse at home or go right to working when I get home. I have not been putting much into my relationship because I believe at my core that if I am to succeed in the entertainment design industry then I need to give everything I have into my degree. My girlfriend believes the differently.

It would appear to me that she believes I should be balancing my artwork, schoolwork, and home life, working less and giving more to my relationship. We are growing apart simply because I want to be the best I can be. Currently in the industry I have noticed that to get the jobs you need to be the best. I can not get out of college as a second rate artist because I will simply go unhired. Another fear she has is that when I do get a job I will continue to put all of my energy into improving my portfolio even more and forgo family and social life. I don't think she is wrong.

I guess my question is this: Should I let the relationship fall apart and focus on my career fully and completely, or should I attempt to seek some semblance of balance. Feng Zhu says there is no such thing as balance in college. I am inclined to agree.

Thoughts?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments