Advice on time management skills?

Do you guys have any advice on improving time management skills? Despite being in post secondary for four years, I still feel like I haven't gotten a good grip on things. As a result, I always end up bombing exams...not because I don't know the material or even find it difficult, but rather, because I didn't give myself enough time to learn it all.

Recently happened to me with an exam I wrote today. Going through the material, it was shockingly easy to learn...but because I hadn't given myself enough time to absorb it all, I pretty much forgot everything I studied. Which of course, sucks.

How do you efficiently stay on track with assignments and readings and stuff like that? Sometimes even when I make myself lists/deadlines, I don't follow up with them (I don't make them too unrealistic, either).

I mean, what motivates you? What happens when you feel like complete shit one day? For example, maybe you got no sleep or you know you start slacking a little after an exam...heh. Even if you rest for a day, how you can you make the most out of it?
How do you avoid temptations (eg. Facebook, chatting with some friends, etc.)

I've looked online for some info, but I would really love to hear what has worked for you guys. I know it'll be different for everyone, but I do appreciate any input.

Thank you!
Comments10
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
No motivation needed.
You just make it a habit of doing what needs to be done.
Yeah, I hear people say "Motivation is what gets you started...but habit is what keeps you going"

While that is true, I still suck at managing my time. Sometimes I find myself spending way too much on an assignment and I end up having no time for something else that needs to be done.