Closed to new replies
November 11, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 5

I feel very lost.

:iconliquidblueeyes:
liquidblueeyes Featured By Owner Nov 11, 2012
So as of July I graduated from uni with a degree in Graphic Design and am now faced with the fact that I need to get a 'real job' I have no idea what to do.

Long story short. My uni was shit. It's considered quite highly in my country but truth be told it was full of tutors who only cared for themselves. They picked out a handful of students at the beginning of the first year that they wanted to succeed and fuck the rest of us.

Now I can handle that. I didn't agree with a lot of what the tutors said and throughout uni looked to the 'outside world' for help - doing work experience, getting to know other creative people, etc.. and that helped to a point. The problem was that within uni it was just full of negativity. Nothing you did was ever right or even considered remotely good.

I spent the last 3 years being told that I'm shit at what I do. Do I believe that? No. I don't think I'm amazing. I think that I am still learning and have some skill at this. It's just I don't care anymore. Why should I?

The job market here is awful (not that it's really any different anywhere else) and I am faced with the same question most people in my position are in - Do I throw myself into the industry and spend, potentially, years doing unpaid internships? Or do I just do something else?

If I choose something else then what?

Basically I feel like my life is a complete mess at the moment and have no idea what to do.

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconpuppy-dangerous:
puppy-dangerous Featured By Owner Nov 11, 2012  Professional Artisan Crafter
You can't just work for commission, take a lot of one time jobs?
:iconstupidstudios:
StupidStudios Featured By Owner Nov 11, 2012