Closed to new replies
November 8, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 9

Layoff from job - No idea what to do now D:

:iconblazingrunaway:
blazingrunaway Featured By Owner Nov 8, 2012  Student General Artist
Backstory: It's nearly the two week mark since I've gotten a layoff off from my job (overpopulation of workers for business reasons); I've opened up as much availability as I could (normally I work on afternoon shifts but I decided to have both morning + afternoon options opened as well as contacting the other branch of the company that I'm registered and open for work)and up to today, no luck has been granted.

My mother and brother said that the company often does this to temporary workers (I'm a student) and they'll call them back within a few weeks. However, I really don't want to risk that chance and lose out even more pay because I need the money to last me 3 semesters at my school. Obviously I'm not in school now because I made a deferral for the winter + spring for my return.

Note: I worked (full time) as an inspector at an automotive factory earning 12 dollars an hour (which is 2 dollars above the min wage in Canada) and this is my first job; I've been working since late August until 2 weeks ago. I don't really have a lot of activity history on me(last time I did volunteer work was done from 2008-2009, last time school ended was back in April yikes I know).

The questions:

1) Will it be okay for me to find another job to do temporarily at another place during my layoff period without giving off the implication to my old employer that I quit?

2) If the above question is alright to do...how am I supposed to let the places that I want to apply to know that I've been laid off for 2 weeks and that I've actually been working for a period of time?