Closed to new replies
November 5, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 37

Choosing between secure job or art-career

:iconnilanandita:
NilaNandita Featured By Owner Nov 5, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
First, please excuse my horrible grammar, lol.

I've been passionated to art since I was kid. I just realized it when I was in college, when I got my first computer and finding time exploring digital art. (pretty late, huh?) whenever I found free time, I keep drawing and drawing, so that I can improve more and more...until now.
After I graduated, I was looking for quite-well-paid-job which was related to art (and of course my mother didn't approve it :XD: she prefers me to take job with high-esteem and high salary). I don't have art-degree nor graphic design background, so here I'm, working as a editorial staff in local book publisher.
I like reading books and at first the working atmosphere here was nice, my colleagues are friendly, and the job wasn't so tight that I still could spare my time browsing internet with my office computer (though still forbidden to work on my personal art).
Lately after 2 years, I found it was becoming tedious and frustrating. Financial problems, unbalancing works, no career-flow and most importantly, I keep thinking that how many time I can spend into my art if I don't just sit here, doing office job.
For 8 hours every work day, I keep sitting in front of my office computer, and when the job finished and came the time when I need to work on my own art in front of my personal computer, I oftenly feel very tired, dizzy, and back pained. (that's why I procrastinate my art a lot)
My mom who was already approved my job here, insisted I don't leave this job and my friends, keep telling me how lucky I'm, have a job here since it's so hard to find a job with such friendly rules. Yeah finding job in my country- especially for introverts- is very hard.