My ex is a crazy stalker, What should I do?

Okay, so I dated this guy about a year ago. We grew up together and I moved away 5 years ago, came back for a visit and we dated three months.

Turned out he wanted me to quit art, to marry me asap, and wanted me to become his housewife and get knocked up shortly after. He confessed that that was the kind of relationship he wanted, and I smacked him in the face and got the hell out.

Now, I'm with a great boyfriend who treats me right, and my ex is jealous. He is spreading terrible rumors about me around my hometown, where I have a long-distance contract with a children's book publisher and I work as an artist. The rumors he is spreading could easily damage my reputation for said company and get me fired.

He gets furious when people bring me up, and says I'm all his and that I belong to him. It's just weird.

In addition to messing up my career, he has been following me an sending people to watch me, it's rather frightening.

In a matter of months, I am moving to Texas with my boyfriend and will be far away from this ex. My boyfriend thinks I should just leave it be until I can get out and have it over with, but I'm wondering if there is some action I can take against this ex to get him off my back and keep him from ruining my job.

Has anyone been through something like this, or just have some general advice? I'd love to just get him out of my life.

tl;dr: My crazy jealous ex is screwing up the opportunity of a lifetime for me and stalking me. Do I take action to make it stop or wait and make a run for it to dodge a mess?
Comments31
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
1) Clearly communicate to him via email or phone that he has zero chances of seeing you ever again, that you're going to the police for his stalking behavior, and that if he continues to slander you, you'll sue him.

2) Get a restraining order

3) buy some mace