So you want to be an proffesional artist?

Don't do it, man! I'm warning you!
Find another dream job while you still can!

Come BackI wish I could quit you, game industry..  

There's always a million people that are better at it than I'll ever be.
I can't keep this job because it barely pays enough to live on and I'm doing other stuff than art 99% of the time anyway and that makes me a sad panda.
But I can't find a better job either because I'm not the very best, like no one ever was. And I have no experience in any other field. I've been doing this since I got out of college.

Sometimes I wish I would have just listened to myself when I briefly wanted to work with kids or animals, or be a cop, or to be a taxidermist, or a coroner..

So don't become a professional artist, kids! Just draw for fun! Get into a less stressful career, like law enforcement or the medical field!

TL;DR: Skunk can't handle rejection very well and is tired of being dirt poor. 
Llama Emoji-08 (Crying) [V1]

P.s. Anyone got any advice for me to improve my art fast?
I have to mainly improve my color, lighting and contrast.
Comments687
Join the community to add your comment. Already a deviant? Log In
If you seriously want a comfortable life for your pets/wife and to pay your rent, work on making your art independent from your main source of income. Nows the time to really evaluate how much you really enjoy art. Having to keep on doing something solely to just survive is bound to drain the life out of the activity itself. Since youre saying you have no experience in another field or anything, Id say your best bet would to become an entrepreneur, since degrees these days arent the most promising things themselves. 
Being and entrepreneur is risky and stressful. I'm okay where I am. I make due every month.
I'd just like a little more space to afford things that aren't necessary to stay alive.
I got a slight increase in salary this year, so that's good.