Closed to new replies
December 8, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 687

Don't Call Me a F**king Black Artist...

:iconillastrat:
illastrat Featured By Owner Dec 8, 2012  Professional Traditional Artist
Why does the art community feel the need to call artists with a black heritage a "black artist?" Its almost like they insinuate that I am not good enough to just be called just an artists. What pisses me off even more are the people that compare me to other artists that happen to be black, as if we all paint the same. Yes, blacks have had a rich heritage in the visual arts, but I am an artist. Simple as that. I don't paint black subject matter (per-say) and my art is indistinguishable to that of other races. People treat my art like its in some sort of subordinate genre not good enough or professional enough. PISSES...ME....OFF!

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconthemastergh0st:
themastergh0st Featured By Owner Dec 11, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
:iconfacepalmplz:
:iconbenjamin-biddix:
Benjamin-Biddix Featured By Owner Dec 11, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Who wants to see a cute bottle of precsipton drugs?! :la:
[link]

(should I set it as my avatar?)
:iconkiwi-punch:
Kiwi-Punch Featured By Owner Dec 10, 2012  Student Digital Artist
:iconferaltao:
FeralTao Featured By Owner Dec 11, 2012
I wonder of this guy has a mental condition of sorts. He seems to live in a little world of his own since half of his threads make people go "Eh... What?".
:iconkiwi-punch:
Kiwi-Punch Featured By Owner Dec 11, 2012  Student Digital Artist
Probably...He probably has some kind of superiority complex.
:iconblackrosekane89:
Blackrosekane89 Featured By Owner Dec 10, 2012  Professional General Artist
He says this about people saying things about his race, but here is a pretty interesting conversation about someone's sexuality [link]
:iconk-koji:
K-Koji Featured By Owner Dec 10, 2012