Closed to new replies
November 20, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 8

The Text Editor

:iconpetethegrouch:
PeteTheGrouch Featured By Owner Nov 20, 2012
I'm fairly new to deviantart, so I'm still getting to grips with a lot of the functions.. However, is it just me or does the text editing device in the submissions page seem really awkward & unintuitive to use..? The fact that there's not even an option to go back & re-edit text after you push the ok button seems crazy to me; what if you made a mistake or simply wished to change what you'd written? I lost the better part of an hours work because of this flaw. Deviantart would do well to look at ways to make the submission process more user-friendly, particularly for first-time deviants, as I think the current set-up is potentially very off-putting...
Remember; not all of us are computer experts!

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconlytrigian:
Lytrigian Featured By Owner Nov 20, 2012  Hobbyist Writer
If you're a serious writer, it makes no more sense to compose a serious work using DA's built-in editing than it does for an artist to create all their work via Muro.

Anyway, of course you can go back in and re-edit. There should be an "edit" button right there on the deviation page somewhere.
As it happens there was an edit button; sadly all that happened when I clicked it was it opened a new text file, which, as you can probably appreciate, was somewhat useless to me...

Also, like I said, this is all pretty new to me; I truly had no way of knowing that I wouldn't be able to do rough drafts here on the site; I've barely just gotten the hang of how to photo-shop images.

Still, live & learn I suppose...
:iconlytrigian:
Lytrigian Featured By Owner Nov 20, 2012  Hobbyist Writer