Shop Mobile More Submit  Join Login

Details

Closed to new replies
February 13, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 12

I need some help with time exposures on auto.

:iconxenomorph1138:
xenomorph1138 Featured By Owner Feb 13, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
First let me say that I'm just a hobbyist, and it's been quite some time since I've used my older SLR 35mm film format cameras (Pentax ME Super and Nikon F3), about 12 years). I recently bought a digital SLR, (Nikon D3100). With the older camera's, in "Auto" mode, on a tripod, for instance, if I was taking a night photo of a freeway to get the "river of lights effect", I used to be able to set aperture and shutter speed and the camera would choose the correct exposure time, let's say 8 seconds. With the digital cameras, I can't figure out how to do that. I can select a shutter speed or aperture but not both. Also with macro photos, there is the problem with depth of field, and to compensate I usually use a tripod and use the same method I described above resulting in a sharper, cleaner looking image.If someone could help me with this problem or point me in the right direction. If this is not the right forum, if anyone would care to share a couple of good sites with forums, I would be very grateful. Thank you for your help.

Baron

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconfallisphoto:
FallisPhoto Featured By Owner Feb 16, 2013