Shop More Submit  Join Login

Details

Closed to new replies
February 11, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 5

Canon EF 28 f/1.8 USM VS Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM?

:iconarosemoore:
arosemoore Featured By Owner Feb 11, 2013
After browsing DA for a while, I finally joined! Hopefully I will get some helpful criticism when I upload photos and also some insight into these lenses I am considering...

1. Canon EF 28mm f/1.8 USM Wide Angle Lens
2. Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Lens

I am just a beginner, but am learning as much as I can. I have the Canon 60D with the lens it came with along with a zoom lens a friend bought for me. I will be traveling this summer and fall overseas in quite rural areas. I was hoping to buy a new lens that best captures what the eye can see. I will be taking a lot of landscape photos as well as night photos.

I thought a wide angle lens was best and the recommendation that kept coming up time and time again was the EF 28mm f/1.8 USM wide angle lens. After reading a lot of reviews and looking at photos taken with it, I really liked it! I know it can be quite soft, but bokeh was very nice... However, I noticed that not too reviews or photos were for landscape photography and it made wonder if this would be right for me despite many people recommending it.

The other lens that kept coming up was the EF 40mm f/2.8 STM lens. Everyone kept saying it is sharp, takes great landscape photos, and is SO much cheaper than the other lens I was recommended to.

Can anyone else here lend their opinion between the two?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:icontetchist:
Tetchist Featured By Owner Feb 14, 2013  Professional Digital Artist
these lenses have two totally different applications and prices. they're not comparable.
:iconlauraperezcerrato:
lauraperezcerrato Featured By Owner Feb 12, 2013  Hobbyist Photographer