Closed to new replies
January 20, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 14

Help with: HDR, Sunsets, Long Exposure and General Photography

:iconbeyond-invisibility:
Beyond-Invisibility Jan 20, 2013  Hobbyist Photographer
So, I've been fairly into photography for about 2 years now (having had an SLR camera for 1 year)and I still need quite a lot of help.
Before I go into it however, I'll give you an idea of my tools.
- Nikon D3100
- AF-S Micro NIKKOR 40mm 1:2.8G (Macro lens)
- F-S NIKKOR 18-55mm 1:3.5 - 5.6G (Standard Lens)

So, as you can see I have very basic tools. I'm a student in high school and can't afford too much in the way of lenses and this was the only camera in my price range (though I know it can do amazing things).
I'm having a lot of trouble with things though, such as long exposure photography. For example, even when the aperture is closed as far ass possible I get horrid (sometimes completely white or blown out) photos, and... I'm really not sure what to do about that.

Another thing is, I've been trying to do HDR, and read a few tutorials (i use the CS6 HDR thing to do HDR) but they never seem to turn out.

Sunsets also seem to turn out very badly for me.

Any advice on these things, or photography in general would be super amazing, I'm not completely sure what to ask specifically, though. I can provide any extra details or anything you want to know about what I'm asking. Thank you.

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconjsvn: