January 16, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 57

Auto or Manual focus?

:icononeblacksheep:
oneblacksheep Featured By Owner Jan 16, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
Hey there photographers.
I was looking at lenses today, and found one that caught my eye. Everything about it pretty much screams "BUY ME!" except for one thing. The Autofocus on the lens is rated at terrible. Now, being an amateur/hobbyist photographer myself (I have no plans to "go pro" or sell my work), I am not familiar with how the pros do it. I was just wondering; do you rely heavily on autofocus, or are you able to get those crystal clear perfect-focus photos with Manual Focus alone? Should a quick autofocus be a selling point for me, or merely an added bonus?

Thanks!

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconclerdy:
Clerdy Featured By Owner Jan 19, 2013  Hobbyist Photographer
Hey,

I tend to leave mine on auto focus most of the time, ok yes it can be abit slow but im not exactly the fastest at manually finding the right focus, also when i se the manual i can't tell if im focused or not!!

I think it all depends on what you are taking a picture of, this is defo the case for me.

:)
:iconlaciemelhart:
LacieMelhart Featured By Owner Jan 19, 2013  Professional Photographer
I've been a bit spoiled to Auto, but if I'm doing still life, I go manual - when you're at a horse show photographing 20+ horses in a class and they're circling around you all at different spots in the arena and various lengths away from you, I use Auto. Same for if they're out running crazy. Ferrets? PFFFFT good luck with manual. Portraits are manual, if the subject is being relatively still, manual. It all just depends on what's working at the moment and what's not.
:iconblackpoppies:
blackpoppies Featured By Owner Jan 18, 2013  Hobbyist Photographer