Details

Closed to new replies
January 15, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 2
:icontylorwestside:
tylorwestside Featured By Owner Jan 15, 2013  Student Photographer
I am sure a lot of people would do this to try and get views or whatever on their page or what not, I honestly don't a rats a$$.

I don't know whether to pick photography as a future interest and try to get a job in it. I do it as a subject for school, I get high Bs and Low As and I am competent with my cert 2 in photo imaging studies at the moment, but I really have no belief in myself as a photographer. My mum and family say yeah I have a talent, but i don't see it, i think it is with the whole "your family is there to support you no matter what" type of thing so i feel as if they just say it to make me feel good.

I wouldn't mind some feed back on my shots, they're probably just the typical " I have a DSLR so i think i am a photographer" kind of shots but I wouldn't mind some help.

Thank you for your time fellow deviantART people :D

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconstevecaissie-stock:
SteveCaissie-stock Featured By Owner Jan 15, 2013  Professional Photographer
All right, I’ve had a look through your gallery. I’m going to be brutally honest. Given that you are still likely a teenager (based on your self-portrait with flaming aerosol can), and relatively new to the world of photography (based on the number of shots in your gallery) I’m also going to cut you a fair bit of slack.

Off the top of my head, you’re not a natural-born artist. But then, very few people are, so that's not a knock against you. You do have a natural curiosity that could work to your advantage, but there are a few concepts that are missing from your work so far. The first is a very common problem among people who are just picking up a camera for the first time (in other words, you’re by no means the only one): conflation of subject with image.