Closed to new replies
January 10, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 6

Sales on deviantART

:iconnightclawthefury:
NightclawtheFury Jan 10, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
I'm thinking more and more about photography since I finally have my new camera. I have already take some pictures, and attempted to sell them for some profit to help benefit me more in life, like money for college, car to get to work, money to finally move and begin my life happily... Those kind of reasons. I honestly wonder how many sales come through deviantART though, even with the popular and more famous people. So, I have a small question for you all, if you're able to answer it.

How popular are sales here on deviantART? Is it worth a try with selling? Are people actually buying artwork as a productive manner?

I only ask because I'm usually nervous about it, due to me not getting any sales whatsoever. However, I'm also a beginner, which plays into things, so this would be more rounded for those who are more famous, and have set their artwork for sale here. Because this question is highly serious thinking for my future, something besides a, "LOL, U STUPID" would be highly appreciated.

Thank you very much for your time. :)

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconskankinmike:
What everyone else has said there... With the addition of dA is the last place I'd think of selling prints...

When you have photography good enough that people wants to buy, i'd then approach trendy cafes and the like, who might display your work for sale, for a cut of the profit (usually around 20%).
:iconsarracarol:
sarracarol Jan 12, 2013  Professional Photographer
DeviantArt sales seem to mostly be the popular artists or incredibly amazing works.

For now, be selective. Not every photo should be a print, like a random snapshot of a lamp on a wall. And people can request your prints. Your more likely to get a DD than a sold print.