Closed to new replies
January 10, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 16

Taking pictures of pets with dark/black fur

:iconmeowesty:
meowesty Featured By Owner Jan 10, 2013
Does anyone have any experience with this and wants to share any tips and tricks?
I have some experience on this, but not too much, and I really want to know if there are any useful tips out there. I know 2 black dogs (schnauzers) that I really want to get some nice pictures of and I don't want to put them through too much trail and error to get some nice pictures.

Both indoors and outdoors (winter, white snow)
Thanks!

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconrockthesky:
rockTheSky Featured By Owner Jan 11, 2013  Hobbyist Photographer
I'm not sure there are many tips, much less "tricks". I've been taking photos of my black Labrador for more than 7 years now.

What do you mean by "nice pictures"? Are you referring to technically nice i.e. good exposure/composition, or nice as in tips on how to get the animal looking good for a photograph? Please be a little more specific.
meowesty Featured By Owner Jan 12, 2013
I'm mostly thinking about how to get it to look technically nice. I find it very difficult to take nice pictures of dark dogs because they tend to become all black in the picture, or get very much unnatural light in the fur (especially with the flash on the camera (I have a canon eos 60D) but now I got another flash to use instead (Canon speedlite 320EX) so it's not too bad, but I'm not sure if I'm pleased. I do turn it away from the animal to get bounce light instead of direct light). I find it especially hard indoors, because of the lack of natural light.
But I'm not very experienced when it comes to taking pictures of dogs, so any tips on how to get the animal to look good is also very much appreciated :D
rockTheSky Featured By Owner Jan 12, 2013  Hobbyist Photographer