Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour

Details

Closed to new replies
January 5, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 10

Relatively inexpensive camera to start with?

:iconstraystate:
StrayState Jan 5, 2013  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
So I'm totally new to photography, minus just messing around, and honestly my iPhone takes better pictures than my current point and shoot...

I'm looking for something I can get those really detailed images, such as some of the high def animal pictures where you can see virtually every hair! I don't however have thousands to spend on a camera. Preferably something with interchangeable lenses, but not incredibly expensive.

I'm sure this question has been asked a million times before O.o...

(I'm hoping to start school/work at a zoo soon and would love to get into animal photography as well. Also, considering many will be in enclosures, a good zoom is a must)

If you have examples of pictures taken with that camera that would be awesome too.

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconrcooper102:
The Panasonic Lumix GH2 is a FANTASTIC camera for the price point. If you can afford it I definitely suggest going that route. Was I completely restarting my photo career now it is the camera I would be starting with. Unlike a higher end point of shoot it has the capability to grow with you. Also because of the 2x crop factor of the micro four thirds sensor you will effectively be able to zoom farther with it than on a DSLR with the same focal length lens. (Which for zoo photographer is very helpful)

It also doesn't lock you into any particular camera brand as there are many companies who support the Micro Four Thirds Standard so in the future you could switch to Sony, or Olympus, or Pentax, etc etc without having to completely repurchase all your lenses. Unlike say with a DSLR which generally have proprietary lens mounts.

[link]