Closed to new replies
December 31, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 21

Camera Advice

:iconmgillustrations:
MGillustrations Dec 31, 2012   Traditional Artist
I'm no professional photographer by any means so I'm not looking for a DSLR.

I'm in the market for a new camera as my current one, a Canon Powershot, has taken to eating batteries like candy. The features I'm most concerned about are macro and lowlight. The former I need because I run an Etsy shop and sell jewelry so I need to be able to have clear close ups. The lowlight is more for personal use, so I need an "every day" camera, so to speak.

I have looked at cameras in stores and online but alas to say I'm dumb in the head on some numbers.

Basically what I'm asking are for camera suggestions based on the features I've mentioned, a point-and-shoot. (good zoom would be nice too) I have been looking at the Nikon COOLPIX line but when reviews are so varied and I can't always get my hands on one personally to play with it myself it's hard to make that big a decision.

Thanks ahead of time!

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconsecondclaw:
Good low light performance in a non-SLR is based on three things (in general):
1 - Bright lens throughout the zoom range. The smaller the F-number the more light the lens collects, therefore a good photo can be taken in a dimmer and dimmer light. For example, SX110IS has following range: 2.8 - 4.3, meaning that at wide angle it takes in approximately twice as much light as at tele. Best lenses actually keep their F-number at 2.8 and below throughout the entire range of operation. Basically the smaller the number the greater amount of light the lens picks up.