Closed to new replies
December 25, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 52

B&W- Camera or in post?

:icons2photos:
S2Photos Featured By Owner Dec 25, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
What do you guys usually do for digital B&W, camera setting or grey-scale it in post? Or some other technique? And the big question, why do you do it the way you do?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconsarracarol:
sarracarol Featured By Owner Jan 11, 2013  Professional Photographer
RAW, then open in Camera Raw, convert to grayscale and adjust the luminance levels, then open in Photoshop CS6 and dodge, burn & curves the hell out of it until I love it. I prefer having 100% control on how every detail looks.
:iconjedlin2154:
JedLin2154 Featured By Owner Jan 9, 2013  Student Filmographer
I always do it in post, way too musch hassle otherwise. I'm also majoring in film with a concentration in editing so that might be why.
:iconseb-photos:
Seb-Photos Featured By Owner Jan 9, 2013  Hobbyist Photographer
Always shooting in raw mode... and by post processing, I set all colors saturation settings to 0 and I play with luminance of each colors...
:iconblepfo:
blepfo Featured By Owner Jan 2, 2013  Student Photographer
When shooting digitally, there's no reason to shoot B&W in camera. I always shoot in RAW, because that gives you more data you can work with in post, and RAW is only in colour since it's raw data.

Now, when shooting film, that's a completely different story...
S2Photos Featured By Owner Jan 2, 2013  Hobbyist Photographer
Makes sense. I'm saving up for a digital, getting rid of all my film gear. Thanks for the reply
:iconrcooper102:
rcooper102 Featured By Owner Dec 31, 2012