Shop Mobile More Submit  Join Login

Details

Closed to new replies
December 22, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 15

Do you need a photography degree to be a successful photographer?

:iconelyxian:
elyxian Featured By Owner Dec 22, 2012
:)

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconmad-shrewd:
mad-shrewd Featured By Owner Dec 27, 2012
Absolutely not. What you need is to take the time to study the theory, take ridiculous numbers of frames and ruthlessly evaluate each and every one, trying to develop a voice. Then spend probably 40+ hours a week marketing and printing your work.

The big thing these days is finding a niche that other people aren't working, or otherwise figuring out how to stand out. But, photography unlike most of the other arts, really doesn't require much schooling. Which is also why it's so much more competitive professionally than other arts are.

There's a reason why I'm a hobbyist and not a professional, I don't like having to commit that much to the process of making a living doing it. For me, I'm much happier doing other things which are easier for me to stand out at.
:iconfallisphoto:
FallisPhoto Featured By Owner Dec 27, 2012
What counts most, almost to the point that it is all that matters, is that you have a good portfolio and that you know how to market it. You'd have a much better chance of making it as a photographer with a degree in business administration or marketing than you would with a degree in photography.
:iconroninbearz:
roninbearz Featured By Owner Dec 27, 2012   Photographer
All depends what your definition of "successful" is, the contacts you make at University can last a lifetime & be very important, all depends what you make of it. You can work at  Wal-Mart making portraits & getting paid to do so, for some that'd be considered "successful".
:iconrcooper102:
rcooper102 Featured By Owner Dec 24, 2012