Closed to new replies
December 8, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 3

Advice on sport photography and potential camera upgrade

:iconieighton:
Ieighton Featured By Owner Dec 8, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
I'm a student at a university studying a non photography-related course who was recently offered the chance to cover a local football team for the remainder of their season, in the sense that I'd provide matchday photography for their website and programme in exchange for the experience it'd give me. I've never really attempted much sport photography before, preferring landscape and nature shots before, and was wondering if anyone's had any experience of covering sporting events or could point me in the direction of any technical help or advice columns online.

I'm not a great photographer, and at the level of football I'm dealing with, they're not expecting masterpieces, but at the moment I use a Nikon P90 for all my photography. Do you think that'd be suitable for capturing fast-paced action across a 90m x 45m pitch, or would I need to upgrade to a proper DSLR? I've been eyeing an upgrade for a while now anyway, so it's not out of the question for me.

Thanks.

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:icon1pen:
1pen Featured By Owner Dec 14, 2012  Professional Photographer
Both of the deviants before me gave really excellent responses so there's not much more to add. But I will say this...I shoot sports exclusively and I've managed to do so on the professional level with a five hundred dollar camera body. Right now you can get an introductory level Canon DSLR/Nikon camera with great starter lenses for around five hundred US dollars, which could easily handle the infrequent football game that doesn't need to be a masterpiece.